top of page

How Did I End Up With These Face Masks?

As I was writing the title to this post it occurred to me that I, myself, don't even truly know the answer to the question. But perhaps writing this post will help me, in a roundabout sort of way, come to an answer.


I have been fortunate to meet a variety of people in my lifetime. I have joined new communities. Went to a few different schools. And I have worked a variety of jobs. This has, ultimately, led to a small following on my mediocre Instagram page (that I either post on four days in a row or not for four months) that has attracted a few brands. I'm certainly no influencer: I don't post daily motivational quotes, I don't live a particularly un-average life, and I don't know how to cook. But that has not stopped companies from sending me a few different products over the past two years. Don't get me wrong, I am not complaining about this in the slightest. I am so grateful to have received everything from coffee beans to a Rent The Runway subscription.


But I have always wondered why I am the one receiving these things. Does my Instagram page really help generate traffic to their stores and products? Most of my followers are broke college students (as am I)--do they really want to be getting recommended 30 dollar face masks? Apparently, I'm doing something right even though I'm not quite sure what that is myself. I suppose I do have an average talent taking flat-lays and coming up with captions, but beyond that it's a mystery.


Yesterday I received an email that I had a package waiting for me in the campus post office. Naturally, I was psyched: a package I didn't order?! We love a good surprise. When the post office worker brought me my package I noticed that it looked like all the promotional packages YouTubers get from brands and put in hauls. And I had no idea what was in it, which made it all the more interesting.


Of course, I had class right after getting the package, but that did not stop me from opening it as soon as I got to the classroom. Upon opening the purple box adorned with a picture of a woman doing an aesthetically pleasing face mask, I was struck with a whole new level of excitement.


Inside the box was sparkly tissue paper and nestled among the sheets were three full-sized face masks with names like: "holographic peel off mask" and "black pearl t-zone clarifying mask" (I don't have them with me while writing this, so those are just approximate guesses of the names). And in addition to that already generous gift from the company, I got a unicorn headband to use while doing the face masks to keep my hair out of the way (something I always struggle with) and an applicator brush (so I don't have to use my hands!!). I have yet to try the face masks--college is crazy and busy and tiring--but I am very excited to do so. Perhaps I'll give y'all a little review after using them?


In no way, shape, or form am I trying to brag about these promotional items, and it isn't super easy getting them either. Why? Because they often require at least one Instagram post, story, or blog post. And, of course, I am more than willing to do that. But time is always a constraint. Mostly, this is just a post thanking all of you for coming along on this little ride with me as an "influencer" and for liking my "sponsored posts" and reading my content that includes things I have received. You all rock and roll and I appreciate every single one of you.


Next step: figure out how to take a flattering picture with a face mask on and my hair up that doesn't (a) make me look like an egg and (b) show that I suck at putting on face masks. Updates to come.




14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page