top of page

How Did I Fill This Table?

You (probably didn't) hear it here first, folks. I'm 21. Yup, the big 2-1. And I have not let anyone around me hear the end of it. And, yes, I am still scared to go into a liquor store. But comfort will come with time, I suppose.


My birthday was on a Monday--pretty much the ideal day to turn 21, right? I celebrated at midnight with my cousin and roommate and definitely regretted that when I went to my 8 am class the next day. And then my 9 am class. And then my 10:30 am class. I continued my wild celebration by taking a nap for two hours before going to the liquor store for the first time since I went as a child for the sole purpose of getting a Dum-Dum.


Although I am eternally grateful to be legal in all aspects of the word now, my birthday was special for a greater reason. I was surrounded by the people I love and care about all in one place for a great meal and two dollar margaritas that night post-liquor store.


If you know anything about college students, especially Gustavus students, you know that we are busy busy people. And even getting three people in the same place at one time typically requires a Doodle poll and multiple time and date changes. But, by the grace of God (and some finagling with schedules, I presume) I was able to have 14 of my closest friends and family sitting around me for dinner at my favorite restaurant in my college town.


As I sipped on my (very strong) margarita I took a second to take a step back and look around me at my birthday dinner. And I felt so so grateful for each and every person sitting around me. They didn't know all the people there, but they were doing what my friends do best: including everyone and being kind. There was laughter. There was cheers-ing. There was an abundance of conversation. And I have never felt more lucky.


If you would have asked me two years ago (or even a year ago) if I would have this particular group of people sitting around a table for a meal I would have laughed at you. I had a great group of friends my freshman year, but in typical college fashion we went our separate ways after we moved out of our freshman dorm. I did not even know half of the people sitting at that dinner table at the end of my freshman year, and those I did know, I didn't know well (give or take two people).


While I ate the chips dipped in cheese dip I was overcome with emotion. I never thought I would find my place at Gustavus when I was making my way through my first-year (and every second year). Sure, I had and continue to have great friends, but over time I made new ones and kept old ones. And I am so grateful for the people in my life for not only making my birthday especially special, but each and every day of this year especially special as well.


And for those of you moving to college next year, or struggling to find your place somewhere new, give it time. The best things and people come when you just let go and let life happen. It's hard, trust me, I know. But life has a funny way of working itself out.




21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page