top of page

How Did I Spend The Last Three Months?

Well, well, well--it is good to be back! I took a much-needed break from lots of my commitments this summer (and the first month of school) to focus on work and friendships/family. And it was really nice, but I 110% missed blogging and writing about my misadventures, so here we are folks.


I'm sure you're (not) wondering where I've been for the past three months: was I on the side of the road in a ditch? Was I galavanting across Europe? Was I working 100+ hours a week? Only two of those are remotely true.


I spent my summer at Good Earth Village, which is not a surprise if you know me in any capacity. It was my third summer there and 13th including my years as a camper. I spent much of my summer leading a program called Adventurers, Trailblazers, and Settlers. These are our tiny babies who come to camp for one day (Adventurers), two days and one night (Trailblazers), and three days and two nights (Settlers). For most of these kiddos, it is their first time away from home in a non-sleepover setting, which can be challenging for some (all) of the campers. I also got to lead a fantastic program called Imago Dei which was our art camp! It was the first time this camp was held in the past few years which was a little nerve-wracking to me because I was given a lot of creative liberty. Pretty much, if it failed I had a large part in aiding that failure. But fail it did not! We had four wonderful local artists come and teach classes, we did crafts on crafts on crafts, and we got to explore nature while doing all of it! I also spent two weeks leading day camps which serve as a good rejuve after working around the clock on-site.


But I can get into the nitty-gritty details of camp life another time because camp was not the only thing I did this summer! I went on a short little trip to Barcelona, Spain to visit a former foreign exchange student (shouts to Marinara). How short was the trip, you may ask? Four days! And for two of those days, I did not have any of my luggage. I spent most of that time wearing a combination of my sister and my mom's clothes paired with a few pieces I got from a local shop in a Meditteranean beach town. I feel as though that story is perfect for another misadventure post (are you sensing a theme here?), so I'll save those details for another time. But overall the trip was amazing and reminded me how much I missed Europe. So much so that I applied to student teach in Sweden and recently got accepted! Catch me teaching in Sigtuna, Sweden for about six weeks next spring!


Other than those two adventures, my life has been pretty dang normal lately. Lots of student organization responsibilities, schoolwork, tutoring, Criminal Minds watching, popcorn eating, and boxed wine drinking (oh, I forgot to mention that I'm 21 now). This update will not be the last you will hear from me for a while, so buckle in folks, we're going on a ride!





57 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page