top of page

October Favorites

Ah yes, here I am again apologizing for my absence. To be fair, life has been a little bit busy lately and I needed to prioritize school, rugby, and sleep over keeping to a strict blogging schedule. Things happen, y'all.


But I am back with one of my favorite types of blog posts: monthly favorites. Let's just get right to it!


1. Hello Fresh


This year I am living in an apartment for the first time ever! I was super pumped about having my own kitchen; I even successfully meal prepped all my lunches for the first two weeks of school. And then the schoolwork started piling up. Enter: Hello Fresh. I have heard many an ad for this meal kit delivery service and was always intrigued, but never had the funds. That is until I saw a coupon for 80 dollars off my first few boxes. So I took Hello Fresh up on that offer and tried it out. And I love it. The food comes pre-portioned and does not go to waste and you get to keep the recipes! The picture below is the first-ever meal I made through this service, creamy pasta with parmesan-crusted chicken!




2. American Eagle Curvy Jeans


Finding jeans that fit my body type has always been a struggle. They either didn't get past my hips or left a gap upwards of 5 inches in the waist. I don't think there was anything I hated more than shopping for jeans. But then American Eagle launched it's "Curvy Jeans" collection and I, naturally, had to try a pair out. And after one pair I was hooked! The jeans fit my waist, fit true to size, and make it past my hips. 12000/10 would recommend.



3. The Body Shop Almond Milk & Honey Cleansing Bar


When I spent approximately five days in Barcelona this past summer, one of my stops was at The Body Shop. Now, we have one of these in the Mall of America, but that trip is both a little too long for a shopping trip and the store doesn't have the same selection as those in Europe. So I was ecstatic to go and see what products they had. I was first drawn to a charcoal cleansing face mask (also amazing) and then the salesperson expertly recommended the Almond Milk & Honey Cleansing Bar to help moisturize the skin after the face mask. And it has done wonders for my skin! It is noticeably less dry and much more moisturized.



4. 88 Days: The Jayme Closs Story


I couldn't find a picture for this one, but that's okay because it's a podcast! It streams on pretty much any platform one could use to listen to podcasts and is fantastically done. It follows the story of Jayme Closs, a girl who witnessed her parents being shot and murdered and then abducted and held captive for 88 days. I don't want to spoil the ending, but it's definitely worth the listen.


5. Zebra Pen Midliners


If you know me, you know I'm a big bullet journal gal. And I had heard that these markers/pens (still not sure exactly how to classify them) were worth the investment. But I never seemed to have the funds to invest in them. But one lucky day, I was strolling through my hometown's Discount Warehouse and spotted them for more than 50% their usual price and snagged the last pack. The colors are gorgeous, it is dual-tipped (fine and brush), and applies nicely to paper! I love these and recommend them for any notes, bujo, or writing needs.



6. Kindred by Octavia Butler


I read this book for the first time for my Lit/Film of US Trauma senior seminar class and I am shocked I never read it earlier. It is a phenomenal book that I believe everyone should read. And if reading isn't quite up your alley don't fear--there is a graphic novel version available as well! It follows the story of Dana, a black woman sent back and forth from the antebellum south and "modern" (the 1970s) Los Angeles to save her family tree. The plot is engaging and the characters are beautifully developed. It is worth the read.


7. Shark Tank


I did not watch this show until I came across a spread in a People magazine about successful "Shark Tank" products/investments while waiting for my friend in the doctor's office. Ever since watching the first episode available on Hulu, I've been hooked! Although I don't always agree with the things the Sharks say, it is still very entertaining. It is especially cool to see products/companies pitched that you recognize.



8. ThredUp


I am in college, therefore I do not have a lot of extra money for new clothes. I am an Education major, therefore I need a whole new wardrobe of "teacher clothes". ThredUp just about saved me when it came to this dilemma. Their clothes are priced fairly, in good condition, and arrive quickly. It's like thrifting but from the comfort of your very own Twin XL bed.



9. Shane Dawson's "The Beautiful World of Jeffree Star" Series


I have been a fan of the new direction YouTube is heading for a while now and certainly enjoy seeing the "inside" of things such as the beauty industry. I not only learned an immense amount of new things related to merchandising, makeup production, and the quality of the products I use, but I was also thoroughly entertained by the rapport throughout the series.



10. Bath & Body Works Moisturizing Body Wash


I picked this up on impulse the last time I was at Bath & Body Works because my skin is notoriously dry throughout the winter months. And I'm a sucker for anything that could potentially remedy this problem. And, boy, does this remedy the problem! My skin has been much more moisturized and the scent I have smells amazing. This could make a great stocking stuffer or gift to yourself for these cold (and dark months).





23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page