top of page

Weekly Goals//Updates: August 26

Well, well, well here we are again, back at it with the weekly goals and updates post. Surprised? We are. I am proving to myself, through this particular series, that I am actually capable of following through with an idea once I get the ball rolling. So, let's do this thang.

But if you have read last week's version check it out here.

Goals Accomplished From Last Week:

1. Plan a new series: I would say that I semi-accomplished this goal this week. I let the idea seed grow in my head and planned the first post for the new series. I didn't quite get the first post written (or posted), but I did make the list of things I need to do for the first edition of this new series that I am still keeping a secret. So, it's not like I didn't do anything. And that's saying something for me when I am not working on a strict deadline. To be honest, even if I set a deadline for myself for projects I still, typically, ignore it because creative projects do not tend to dictate any "important" my life unless they are part of a syllabus. And perhaps getting past this restricting part of my personality will be a part of my goals for this upcoming week--we shall see.

2. Practice for my trumpet audition: Yeah, this one follows the lines of the last goal--I kind of achieved the goal, but not really. I did pick up my trumpet and practice scales and sight-read the audition piece provided to me by the directors of the ensembles at Gustavus once. But beyond that I did not make much progress on my practice plan (oh yeah, I forgot, I created a practice plan, that counts as achieving this goal a little bit, right?). Again, although there is a deadline related to my trumpet audition, it doesn't stress me out as much as it should. We're working on it, people.

3. Read "The Anatomy of a Scandal" by Sarah Vaughan: Wow, so my theme for this post this week is that I sort of completed my goal, but did not actually complete it. Unlike not reading any pages of The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo when that was my goal a few weeks back, I did read about 150 pages of The Anatomy of a Scandal, and that's progress. But, there are more than 200 pages of the book left. You can't win 'em all people! At least I am sort of accomplishing these goals, that's something, right?

Goals For The Upcoming Week:

1. Set deadlines for myself and stick to them: As I mentioned before, I am not good at following through with deadlines. I'm not awful at creating deadlines for myself, in fact, I love creating deadline layouts in my bullet journal. But when it comes to actually checking the boxes off, not so great. My layouts might be pretty, but the outcome? Not so much. So this week I am going to set specific and concrete deadlines and I'm going to actually do it to the best of my abilities.

2. Get real good at the audition piece for my upcoming audition: I am hoping to not be an embarrassment to all trumpet players everywhere at my audition this year, and therefore I need to become really stinking good at the audition piece. Seeing as I've run-through the piece before, I do have a little bit of it under my fingers (#justmusiciantings) and feel as though it truly is possible for me to not "fork" it up too bad. Here's hoping!

3. Get packed up without forgetting too many things: I leave for college on September 1 and y'all know what that means! Packing up literally everything in my life in preparation for living in a concrete box for 9-ish months. I really do love dorm living--perhaps I'll do a little mini-series on that--but packing and unpacking always shows how forking bad I am at packing and remembering things. It's not that I do not purchase or put everything I need in a place where I will remember it, it's just that I, apparently, am not capable of remembering the majority of my items. So, this week, I hope to spread my packing out over a good amount of days so as to limit the amount of things I forget.



7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page